New Council for the British-Luxembourg Society (BLS)

By BCC Secretariat for British Chamber of Commerce for Luxembourg, March 06 2024
Back to news list

Following the AGM (04.03.24), the BLS is pleased to announce our newly elected council 2024.

Alex Ludbrook-Miles (General Secretary), Amela Skenderovic, Chris Atkinson (VP), Christos Floros, Darren ROBINSON (President), Debbie O’Keefe, Denton Lilley, Diane Longden (Treasurer), Fiona Urquhart, Ian Berry, Jacqueline Spence (VP), Laurent Peusch, Louise Benjamin, Michael-James Clifton, Nasir Zubairi (VP), Paul Schonenberg, Richard Aboboto, Sam Elsey, Sam Vinandy-Lau, Thomas Keipes.

Darren Robinson was re-elected as President by the new council.

Robinson says ‘I am honoured once again to be elected as President and I am looking forward to working with the re-elected and new members of our council. We are now attracting a more varied membership from over 30 nationalities and also a much younger audience. We welcome our youngest council member ever, Sam Elsey at 18. Sam is also the President of the Luxembourg Youth Parliament and President of the Model European Parliament Luxembourg. We have become a very popular society, attracting over 500 members in 2023. Members join for a variety of reasons, whether it’s our thought-provoking lectures, cultural gatherings, courses or social events, we aim to provide a platform for meaningful connections and enriching experiences.

Before the AGM, members were welcomed by the Mayor of Leudelange, Lou Linster and Jérôme Wiwinius presented the LALUX history linking the relationship with the BLS. Aloyse Hentgen a Founding Member of LALUX was also a Founding Member of the BLS. The Society were honoured to have his grandson attend the AGM, Pit Hentgen (President of LALUX) and also Pit’s mother Mrs Andrée Hentgen-Theisen, a long-standing member of the BLS.

LALUX Assurances for generously hosted the AGM and provided a wonderful networking cocktail.

The BLS is grateful to their 2024 Partners, Harneys, Oakley Capital, PwC Luxembourg, Carne Group,  Stonehage Fleming, HSBC Luxembourg and LALUX Assurances.

The British-Luxembourg Society (Est. 1947) is open to ALL nationalities.

€40 for an individual and €60 for a Partner/Spouse Membership.


Related news